Government & NGOs

State Emblem

State Govt Mission


Industries in Sikkim

Environment issues

Universities & Colleges

Community Initiatives

Awards won by Sikkim

Who's who


The official website of the Government of Sikkim that is being maintained by Department of Information Technology can be browsed for details on the various organs of the government.


dc sdm bdo

Like any other state of the Indian Union, Sikkim has a Chief Minister,  Council of Ministers and MLAs chosen through the electoral process. The Chief Minister and the Council of Ministers are in charge of various Departments. Some of the Departments and a few of the Government Undertakings have the ruling party MLAs appointed as their Chairpersons. The bureaucracy in the State is headed by the Chief Secretary. Each Department or a group of them is put in charge of a Secretary or Commissioner who is usually an Indian Administrative Service Officer.

The various Departments in the Government of Sikkim are

Animal Husbandry,Livestock,Fisheries & Veterinary Services Department (earlier Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Services Department)

  •  CM Secretariat ( earlier Chief Ministers Office)
  • Commerce & Industries Department (earlier Industries Department)
  • Co-operation Department
  • Cultural Affairs & Heritage Department (earlierCultural Affairs Department
  • Department of Personnel AR Training P G,Career options & Emp,Skill Dev & CM’s Self employment Scheme (earlier Department of Personnel Administrative Reforms & Training)
  • Development Planning Economic Reforms and N.E Council Affairs Department (earlier Planning  & Development Department)
  • Ecclesiastical Affairs Department
  • Election Department
  • Energy and Power Department
  • Excise Department
  • Finance,Revenue and Expenditure Department (earlierFinance Department)
  • Food Security & Agriculture Development Department (earlierAgriculture Department)
  • Food C.S. and Consumers Affairs Department
  • Forest ,Wild Life  &  Environment  Management  Department ( earlier  Forest  & Environment Department)
  • Health Care,Human Services & F W Department(earlier Health & Family Welfare Department)
  • Home Department
  • Horticulture & Cash Crops Development Department (earlier Horticulture Department)
  • Human Resources Development Department (earlier Education Department)
  •  Information & Public Relation  Department
  •  Information  Technology Department
  •  Irrigation & Flood Control Department
  • Labour Department
  • Land Revenue & Disaster Management Department (earlier Land Revenue Department)
  • Law Department
  • Mines, Minerals & Geology Department (earlier Mines & Geology Department)
  • Parliamentary Affairs Department
  • Printing & Stationery Department
  • PWD Building & Housing Department
  • PWD Roads & Bridges Department
  • Rural Management and Development Department ( earlier Rural Development Department)
  • Science & Technology Department
  • Sikkim Police (headed by Director General of Police)
  • Social Justice, Empowerment and Welfare Department
  • Sports & Youth Affairs Department
  • Tourism Department
  • Transport Department
  • Urban Development & Housing Department
  •  Water Security and Public Health Engineering Department. ( earlier Public Health Engineering Department)
  • Raj Bhawan (not a Department in the real sense of the word but has a Secretary) The Ecclesiastical Affairs Department, which deals in the management of the affairs of the monasteries of the state, is unique to Sikkim and is not found elsewhere in the country.

There are many Central Government offices also in the state. These are Department of Telecommunications, Department of Postals, Accountant General, All India Radio, Doordarshan, Botanical Survey of India, Census, Central Excise, Customs, Central Public Works Department, Central School, Central Water Commission, Central Reserve Police Force, Field Publicity, General Reserve Engineering Force (GREF), Geologicial Survey of India, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), Inter State Police Wireless, Meteorological Department, National Sample Survey Organisation, Government of India Press, Press Information Bureau, Ayurvedic Research Centre, Special Bureau, Spices Board, Subsidiary Intelligence Bureau (SIB) and Small Industries Service Institute.

The State is divided into four districts: North, South, East and West each with a District Collector. There are also sixteen subdivisions which are Gangtok, Pakyong, Rongli, Namchi, Soreng, Gyalshing, Rabongla, Mangan  Chungthang, Kabi, Passingdon, Rangpo, Dentam, Yoksum, Jorethang & Yangang.