Manav Seva Puraskar, 1994 – to Chief Minister of Sikkim for serving the people with dedication.

  • Bharat Shiromani Puraskar, 1997 – to Chief Minister of Sikkim, in recognition of his endeavor to ensure Sikkim’s emotional integration with the rest of the country.
  • Man of Dedication Award, 1999- to Chief Minister of Sikkim.
  • Sarwasrestha Paryawarna Badi Mukhayamantri, 1999-for working towards the preservation of the environment.
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Honoris Causa) 2003- to the Chief Minister in recognition of his work towards the development of Sikkim, its education, society and its women.
  • International Ambassador of Peace Award, 2008to the Chief Minister of Sikkim
  • Leadership and Good Governance Award, 2009 -to the Chief Minister of Sikkim
  • Highest award in Tourism for many consecutive years.
  • The Best Performing State in Education, 2004-05.
  • Best State award for progress in primary health sector, its investment friendly environment and its positive budgetary trends, 2006, India Today Group New Delhi.
  • Sikkim was declared the best state among 12 Eastern States in the “State of States Conclave” organized by India Today.
  • Skoch Challenger Award – 2005, in recognition of commendable work done in the field of information Technology.
  • Hospitality India Award, 2006.
  • The Highest Eco-Tourism Award to Sikkim.
  • 3rdposition in best performing states in Panchayati Raj.
  • National Award as best performing State in Tourism – 2008.
  • Platinum award for Emerging Tourism State of 2008 by Today’s Traveller.
  • IBN7 Diamond State Award for the best state in the small state category for Citizen Security and Justice.
  • Sikkim Nationalised Transport awarded National Trophy for lowest

accidents in hilly state category for two consecutive years. i.e. 2005-06 and 2006-07 by the Union Transport Ministry.

  • National Tourism Award for the best tourism related programmes for the year 2007-08.
  • Sikkim awarded the best in Preserving National Resources and maintaining State’s environment.
  • Four India Today Awards in the small state category namely; the Best State in Education, Bharat Nirman Award in E-Governance, Bharat Nirman Award in Rural Electrification and Bharat Nirman Award in Rural Roads.
  • State Leadership Award 2009 in horticulture.
  • Sikkim becomes the first Nirmal Rajya in the country.
  • Fourth JRD Tata Memorial Award for Sikkim.

–  CM awarded the Bharat Asmita Jewan Gaurav Purasker

–  Chardham at Namchi bags the Most Innovative and Unique Tourism Project Award 2010